Welcome to Galesville


The members of the Galesville Heritage Society invite you to explore their historic village. First settled in 1654 on the banks of West River, Galesville and its history are fundamentally linked to the Chesapeake Bay. Native Americans, English settlers, African slaves, German immigrants, wealthy vacationers, and recreational boaters have all played a part in Galesville's history. Locals have earned their living fishing, crabbing, oystering, farming, and running small businesses. Some commute to Annapolis, Baltimore, and Washington for work. Though the people and their vocations change, Galesville's strong sense of community endures.

The Carrie Weedon House was dedicated as the Galesville Heritage Museum on May 1, 2004.

Ebenezer A.M.E. and other churches are still centers of community life.

German immigrants, like the Bunnigs (later Benning), came to Galesville in the late 19th century.

The Quaker Burying Ground lies on the town's western edge. One of the first Quaker meetings in Maryland was held in Galesville during the 17th century.

On Main Street, Galesville,
Official (Historical Marker Database)
Place Location: